top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureckarpodini

Post 1: Why Computational Arts?

Updated: Mar 23, 2019

All the answers to your questions about why reading this blog? Why to get to know what is computational arts? What is this blog about?


9/10/18

Welcome to my Blog. This is a blog about the art I love for about 10 years now. I am trying to study it, to explore, it create it, to perform it and most of all to communicate it with other people. This year, 2018, I joined Goldsmiths to study Computational Arts. In this blog you follow this journey of mine in the this world of new minings, new terms, new ideas. You are free to comment your ideas and share mine.


A story about how it all started.


This year, 2018, I joined Goldsmiths to study Computational Arts. To explore new topics of art and new technologies.

My story started when I was studying my undergraduate degree in Athens, in music Studies. I love music, all kind of music, but I was always in favour of more contemporary sounds. I first got excited when I heard for the first time Arnold Schoenberg the Three Piano Pieces. Sounds so random but at the same time, I knew that it was composed by an almost algorithmic method. Then, I was lucky enough to attend the introduction to electroacoustic music module which changed my life and determine my following musical and academic career. I loved the idea of using sounds from my environment and prototype synthesised sounds and compose something in my computer, nothing like the traditional composition for musical instruments. Thus, I create compositions with different subjects that put the audience in a different mood of listening and perception of music. At this point I wasn't composing on the principals of Beethoven, not even Debussy, I was composing contemporary music. I was producing contemporary art.


The moment that introduced me to computational arts.


September 2014, My university department hosts an international conference about computer music. The name of it ICMC/SMC. Almost all students of Music Technology pathway volunteer at this conference. I was volunteering at the position of audio engineering and stage managing. Long story short I was helping on the preparation of the installations and performances, setting up computers or prototype instruments on stage, troubleshooting etc. In this conference, I was introduced to a new world of technological innovations related to art. I saw how computer science can be combined with music and sound.

Prototype instruments with the use of Arduino, sensors which control the sound, Audio that generates visual, 3D printed instruments.

Prototype instruments with the use of Arduino, sensors which control the sound, Audio that generates visual, 3D printed instruments, game-audio interaction, live coding and many more. That was the moment that I dedicated to learning how to incorporate these amazing things to my compositional practice. And here I am a few years later at Goldsmiths Studying Computational Arts. Get Involved!The goal of this blog is to introduce you to the theory of computational arts. Through this blog I hope that people can relate to my passion and understand a bit more about computational arts. So do not hesitate to share any ideas and questions related to my posts.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page